top of page
Search
  • Misty Moncur

Boys can read my books, too

Yeah, there's girls on the covers. And some flowery things. But boys can read the books, too.



When Zach was a little kid,

his grandma gave him some books about ocean life. He loved the books about ocean life, but the covers had sharks on them. Which was bad. Zach was scared of sharks, so the covers scared him. Wouldn't go near them. If someone else opened one of the books and brought it to him so he didn't have to see the cover, he'd read the book all day. Kammi had the great idea to tape a piece of notebook paper over the sharks, and the problem was solved.


I had this impression

last Sunday in church to take a book to one of the young men in our ward. Well, it took all day, but I effectively talked myself out of it. I give books away all the time and sometimes even as surprise gift , acting on a prompting like this. But you see, I've never given one to a boy, and definitely not to a boy I don't know very well. But I've been thinking, if I taped a piece of notebook paper over the girl on the cover, maybe I could take it to him, and he could read it. He might like it. He might think I'm a weirdo.


bottom of page